Major Winners at the British Masters

By: Golfshake Editor | Tue 11 Oct 2016 | Comments

The Grove is one of England's finest golf courses. It measures 7,152 yards and was designed by the distinguished international course designer Kyle Philips. Uniquely, this championship course has no members, so anybody can play.

A total of 13 major champions have won the British Masters:

  • Bobby Locke (1946 and 1954)
  • Max Faulkner (1951)
  • Peter Thomson (1961 and 1968)
  • Tony Jacklin (1967 and 1973)
  • Bob Charles (1972)
  • Bernhard Langer (1980)
  • Greg Norman (1981 and 1982)
  • Ian Woosnam (1983 and 1994)
  • Lee Trevino (1985)
  • Seve Ballesteros (1986 and 1991)
  • Sandy Lyle (1988)
  • Sir Nick Faldo (1989)
  • Justin Rose (2002)

British Masters

In the field at the British Masters are six major champions (Padraig Harrington, Trevor Immelman, Jose Maria Olazabal, Danny Willett, Y.E Yang, Graeme McDowell and Paul Lawrie), three European Tour number ones, two former world number ones (Luke Donald and Lee Westwood), 83 European Tour winners and 20 Ryder Cup players competing this week.

History was made in 1967 when Tony Jacklin won at Royal St George’s. His final round of 64 included a hole-in-one at the par three 16th. It was the first time an ace was witnessed on British television

The final round of the 2000 event saw Roger Chapman and Alastair Forsyth paired together over Woburn’s Dukes Course. Both golfers recorded holes-in-one, Forsyth at the second and Chapman six holes later at the eighth. This represented the last time on the European Tour that two players in the same group both had holes-in-one in the same round.


Be part of the action with a selection of unique golf tournament experiences, from playing in a pro-am with the stars to watching the action at golf’s most illustrious events. Whether it’s the Masters or The Open, The Ryder Cup or WM Phoenix Open, build your own bespoke package with the experts at

What do you think? leave your comments below (Comments)

Tags: British Masters

Leave your comments below

comments powered by Disqus