Top Links:

Get A Golf Handicap

UK Golf Guide

Golfshake Top 100s

Find Golf Travel Deals

Golf Competitions


Community Forum


Tee Times | Search | Reviews


Gear | Tour | Industry Insider


Video Library | Tuition Sections


Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links


The Open Returns to St. Andrews for 150th Edition

By: | Mon 12 Feb 2018 | Comments

It's been the worst kept secret in golf for years, but the R&A has officially announced that The Open Championship will return to the legendary Old Course at St. Andrews for the 150th playing of golf's oldest major in 2021. 

Coming to Fife for the 30th time, the Open's most famous venue will be a grand stage for this milestone, having previously hosted the 50th, 100th and 150th anniversaries of the Championship that dates back to 1860. However, this will be the 150th playing of the Championship, making what is always a special week even more significant in the Auld Grey Toon.

The R&A Chief Executive, Martin Slumbers said: “The Open holds a very special place in the hearts of golf and sports fans around the world. The Championship enjoys a historic and celebrated relationship with the Old Course in St Andrews and we are excited to be marking the occasion of the 150th Championship at the home of golf in 2021.”

St. Andrews last hosted the Open in 2015, when Zach Johnson overcame former champion Louis Oosthuizen and Marc Leishman in a Monday playoff after weather delays. The Old Course has routinely crowned legendary winners, with an historic roll call including the likes of Bobby Jones, Peter Thomson, Jack Nicklaus, Seve Ballesteros, Sir Nick Faldo and Tiger Woods.

The St. Andrews Links Trust oversees the seven courses on the Links, including the Old, New, Jubilee, and Eden. It's a remarkable destination for golf, and Opens in this historic town routinely draw record crowds. The Trust's Chief Executive, Euan Loudon said: “It is always special when The Open returns to the Old Course and I am sure that excitement, both here in St Andrews and around the world, will build in anticipation of this special occasion.

“Almost every great champion in the game has played on our famous Links and we look forward to welcoming the next generation of golfing greats for The 150th Open.”

Open Champions at St. Andrews

1873: Tom Kidd

1876: Bob Martin

1879: Jamie Anderson

1882: Bob Ferguson

1885: Bob Martin

1888: Jack Burns

1891: Hugh Kirkaldy

1895: J.H. Taylor

1900: J.H. Taylor

1905: James Braid

1910: James Braid

1921: Jock Hutchison

1927: Bobby Jones

1933: Denny Shute

1939: Dick Burton

1946: Sam Snead

1955: Peter Thomson

1957: Bobby Locke

1960: Kel Nagle

1964: Tony Lema

1970: Jack Nicklaus

1978: Jack Nicklaus

1984: Seve Ballesteros

1990: Sir Nick Faldo

1995: John Daly

2000: Tiger Woods

2005: Tiger Woods

2010: Louis Oosthuizen

2015: Zach Johnson

How to Get a Tee Time on the Old Course at St. Andrews

10 Tips to Get the Most Out of a Golf Trip to St. Andrews

Be part of the action with a selection of unique golf tournament experiences, from playing in a pro-am with the stars to watching the action at golf’s most illustrious events. Whether it’s the Masters or The Open, The Ryder Cup or WM Phoenix Open, build your own bespoke package with the experts at Golfbreaks.com.

What do you think? leave your comments below (Comments)

Tags: The Open St Andrews

Leave your comments below

comments powered by Disqus
Scroll to top