Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Which helps the most practice or play?

Posted by: user437159 | Thu 24th Nov 2011 19:34 | Last Reply

I have been playing for 12 months and golf has become my obsession. When i first started i shot between 106 to 127. Over the months i now am shooting in the 90's consistently. Now winter is slowly creeping in i want to break 90 regulary next season. So i thought which will help me get there faster? Practice or play? When i say play i mean 36 holes a week or more. And when i use the word practice i mean 3 to 5 times a week. Thanks smileyhttp://www.golfshake.com/scripts/ckeditor362/plugins/smiley/images/regular_smile.gif" title="smiley" width="20" />

re: Which helps the most practice or play?
user40826
Reply : Thu 24th Nov 2011 20:32

If you are spending time practicing it will depend on the quality of the practice.  There is little point in bashing the ball at the range with no purpose to it. 

Ask yourself, What exactly do I need to work on?  Go with a purpose in mind.  It could be hitting a certain distance with a wedge or getting up down on the practice green 8 time out of 10.

Just make sure you don't go an practice a poor techinique! 

user26342
Reply : Thu 24th Nov 2011 20:44

As Chris says, there's no point spending an hour down the range grooving a bad swing.

Get a lesson & explain what your goals are & then focus your practice on this.

user249902
Reply : Fri 25th Nov 2011 05:35

Agree with the above. Although to be honest I don't practice. In the summer I play 5 times a week minimun, never really worrying about my score, mainly trying out new ideas. One day I'll play only an 8 iiron when within 50yards of the green, the next day it'll be a 9 iron. This way I get to try different approaches with different lies each time.