Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Irons out of bunkers

Posted by: user259181 | Thu 24th Nov 2011 11:36 | Last Reply

The link to Seve in one of the other posts has reminded me of something I was going to ask you guys.

I often play our 6 hole par three course at lunch time and only take an 8 iron and a putter with me. there are a couple of bunkers per hole and I sometimes go in them.....only having an 8 iron with me, I had to use it.

I was very surprised how much easier I found it to get out AND closer to the hole using this club - so I started practicing with irons out of bunkers in our chipping area. i find the for anything that doesn't need to stop very quickly I get best results with my 9 iron. My eight iron is great if there is very little height needed to get out and lots of green to work with.

Before I found this I was nearly always far too short (if out at all) when coming out of bunkers using my 58deg, now I feel that with my nine iron I know I will get it out and roll closer to the hole

Does anyone else use 'normal' irons out of sand?

re: Irons out of bunkers
user338942
Reply : Thu 24th Nov 2011 13:51

Not greenside, but never been in a position where I've had to develop the skill. Its normally a 58 greenside or 52 from 20-40 yards

user410273
Reply : Thu 24th Nov 2011 13:51

Whatever suits you and gets the job done. My first set, 1968, didn't have a sandwedge and to be honest I didn't even know what a sandwedge was.

user24437
Reply : Thu 24th Nov 2011 14:11