Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

lessons/coaching

Posted by: user435251 | Sat 5th Nov 2011 20:45 | Last Reply

hi all, having just played my 1st round in about 10 years, went round in 146. whilst over the range  1 of the pro"s came up and gave me a quick 15 mins of his time and to be fair showed me how to grip the club properly and it has/did straighten up a lot of my shots on the range.(on the course a different matter lol) i am now thinking maybe a few lessons with him would be the way to go. my question is do u think this is worth while and how many lessons would u go for ? cheers all!

re: lessons/coaching
user106712
Reply : Sat 5th Nov 2011 21:41

I have been playing for 12 years and without a lesson managed to get my handicap down to 10. I used to read tips and tricks from magazines etc. And also get tips from playing parteners, I really thought there was no need for lessons. Then I bought 4, 30 min lessons and had the first one 2 weeks ago, just a chipping lesson and he also altered my grip slightly.Nothing much really, then last week I had another lesson and within minutes I started drawing the ball with my 6 iron and hitting it 15 yards further with hardly any effort. Whereas before I had a slight fade !

All I can say is I wish I had taken lessons when I first started and I can't wait for my next one. But remember to practise what you are taught until it feels natural !

user33026 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Sat 5th Nov 2011 22:11

Definitely, lessons will make a huge difference, especially when you are effectively starting up as it will prevent the errors before they start. 

I would suggest a course of six (many places do six for the price of five) as this allows you to cover all the key aspects of the game and the last lesson is often a playng lesson over a few holes