Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

hi all

Posted by: user435251 | Tue 1st Nov 2011 20:06 | Last Reply

hi all newbie here so please take it easy on me!!!  last played about 10 years ago, and then that wasnt regular ,maybe 2/3 times a year.  just been talked into playing friday with a few blokes from work,so should be fun. any advice for me will be gladly accepted , i have not got or had a handicap!!! the others that are playing have!! ive been told i will play off 28? aint got a clue here, so was hoping some1 could give me some advice how this all works?!! thanks in advance .IAN.

re: hi all
user390191
Reply : Tue 1st Nov 2011 20:51

hi ian welcome back to the world of golf i would think as you dont have a handicap them yes 28 would be right but that depends on what game you will play i guess, on not playing for 10 years just enjoy it and always smile when that darn ball does not do what it is supposed to do

karl

user435251
Reply : Tue 1st Nov 2011 21:08

cheers karl, yeah m8 will try to smile lol. more likely to break the club over me knee tho, lol. went over the range and hit 50 balls today ,most veered off right but a few went pretty straight.(when i aimed a bit / alot left lol) will def enjoy a day out also.and a few beers after. 

user398345
Reply : Wed 2nd Nov 2011 20:36

Best advice I can give you, based on my ongoing struggle to get below 28, is to keep your head down throughout the shot, and ONLY look up to see where your ball has gone AFTER you've actually hit it!

This is easy to say, much, much harder to actually do in reality! But there is absolutely no doubt that my best shots are when I manage to do this!