×

Top Links:

Our Services

Get A Golf Handicap

Competitions

Join or Login

Course:

UK Golf Guide | Search | Travel

News:

Latest | Gear | Tour | Industry

Tuition:

Golf Tuition | Instruction Content

Golfshake:

Join | Log In | Help

×
New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Rules

Posted by: user433727 | Sun 30th Oct 2011 19:26 | Last Reply

If you touch the ball on the tee but the ball stays on the tee does this count as a shot.

re: Rules
user77012
Reply : Sun 30th Oct 2011 19:35

No , balls not in play until you make a swing.

re: Rules
user433727
Reply : Sun 30th Oct 2011 19:37

Many thanks from another fountain of knowledge on this site.

re: Rules
user33026 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Sun 30th Oct 2011 19:41

You can knock it off the tee too and it still doesn't count as a shot

re: Rules
user433727
Reply : Sun 30th Oct 2011 19:45

Thanks for the info ....

re: Rules
user33026 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Sun 30th Oct 2011 21:32

Stephen,

Not true about passing the marker.  The ball is not in play until you have made a swing at it. 

Regarding your question, the answer is none.  If you strike the tee marker the shot must be replayed without penalty

re: Rules
user106712
Reply : Sun 30th Oct 2011 22:41

 A ball is not considered in play until a stroke has been made, so when the ball is sitting on the tee, it's not yet in play. A waggle of the club, or shaky hands, or any similar move that results in bumping the ball off the tee is not a stroke. Intent is the key - remember, a swing is only a stroke if the intent is to hit the ball  .So even if you take a practise swing and hit the ball 100 yards it can be re-teed without penalty.

There is no penalty, it does not count as a stroke, and the ball is re-teed and played (see Rule 11-3).

Here's a scenario in which it would, however, add a stroke to your score: You address the ball, take a mighty rip - and look down to see the ball sitting untouched on the tee. Your intent was to the hit the ball, so even though you missed, it's a stroke. Because you've taken a stroke, the ball is now in play, even though it's still sitting on the tee.

So you address the ball a second time, and in waggling the club bump the ball off the tee. Guess what - now it counts as a stroke because Rule 18-2a applies. Because the ball was in play, you must assess a penalty stroke for touching a ball at rest with your equipment. 

re: Rules
user355541
Reply : Mon 31st Oct 2011 09:58

One stroke penalty.


The Forums have now moved to a new version

We have now moved the forum to a new and improved system which provides more functionality plus provides easier access from desktop, tablets and smart phone devices.

Click here to view the new forum & register for free.

Scroll to top