Top Links:

Get A Golf Handicap

UK Golf Guide

Golfshake Top 100s

Find Golf Travel Deals

Golf Competitions


Community Forum


Tee Times | Search | Reviews


Gear | Tour | Industry Insider


Video Library | Tuition Sections


Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Does this class as a stroke??

Posted by: user26342 | Wed 26th Oct 2011 15:06 | Last Reply

On a short putt a player steps up awkardly to his ball to avoid stepping on his opponents line. As he goes to putt the ball his putter stabs into the ground & doesn't make contact with the ball.

Does this count as a stroke as his club has not gone past the point at which the ball is positioned (unline an airshot which does)??


re: Does this class as a stroke??
Reply : Wed 26th Oct 2011 15:47

Yes its a shot. Because he intended to hit the ball, it counts !

Last edit : Wed 26th Oct 2011 15:50
re: Does this class as a stroke??
Reply : Fri 28th Oct 2011 13:25

If he was intending to putt the ball then it would count as a stroke.  If he wasn't intending to putt the ball then it wouldn't count as a stroke.

From what you have written then I would say it was a stroke.


The Forums have now moved to a new version

We have now moved the forum to a new and improved system which provides more functionality plus provides easier access from desktop, tablets and smart phone devices.

Click here to view the new forum & register for free.

Scroll to top