As the ball lies?
Here's one I encountered whilst playing yesterday.
My drive ended up plugged in the wet earth which surrounded the base of a small tree (not-staked). The tree wasn't impeding my swing, but I wondered if I could lift and replace the ball? This was in the rough btw so not 'through the green' I think.
I didn't and played it as it lay but after a quick look online when I got home it seems the official USGA rule is you have to play it, but other sites stated local rules usually allow you to lift, clean and replace.
Which applies? There was nothing in the local rules section on the card so assumed it depended on the course.
Last edit : Fri 29th Jun 2007 16:12
Reply : Mon 2nd Jul 2007 13:33
Danny, 25/4 in the R&A decisions on the rules of golf have a similar scenario.
Your scenario would be that the water is treated as casual water. If you had to press down hard causing the water to appear this would not be casual water, it comes down to if the water is visible before or after the player takes his normal stance.
Casual Water
“Casual water’’ is any temporary accumulation of water on the
course that is visible before or after the player takes his stance
and is not in a water hazard. Snow and natural ice, other than
frost, are either casual water or loose impediments, at the
option of the player. Manufactured ice is an obstruction. Dew
and frost are not casual water. A ball is in casual water when
it lies in or any part of it touches the casual water.
Reply : Mon 2nd Jul 2007 13:34
Sorry Dave, posted at the same time
Anyone interested in the 'Decisions on the rules of Golf 2006-2007', then let me know. Normally retail price is £14.99 but the local bookstore is selling for £3.99. Would need to check postage cost though.
Reply : Mon 2nd Jul 2007 17:51
Wayne, I think I saw your avatar on this months crime watch.
Reply : Tue 3rd Jul 2007 07:36
you couldnt get that all on one avatar surely.
Reply : Tue 3rd Jul 2007 09:58
Danny you are correct and Dave you may need to check. I once played with my Uncle who used to be a club captain and got picked up for this, he's a bit of a stickler for the rules.
From bunker you either play as it lies, take the free relief within the bunker and play as it lies or take the drop outside for a one shot penalty, or deem it unplayable and again take the one shot penalty.
Rule 25-1b(ii) :
In a Bunker: If the ball is in a bunker, the player must lift
the ball and drop it either:
(a) Without penalty, in accordance with Clause (i) above,
except that the nearest point of relief must be in the
bunker and the ball must be dropped in the bunker, or
if complete relief is impossible, as near as possible to
the spot where the ball lay, but not nearer the hole, on
a part of the course in the bunker that affords
maximum available relief from the condition; or
(b) Under penalty of one stroke, outside the bunker
keeping the point where the ball lay directly between
the hole and the spot on which the ball is dropped,
with no limit to how far behind the bunker the ball
may be dropped.
Reply : Tue 3rd Jul 2007 17:45
Think that was a local rule given the shear volume of water and the fact that almost all the bunkers had filled up.
Am I right in saying R&A rules are superseded by local course rules ?
Reply : Wed 4th Jul 2007 10:56
I always carry one in my bag when organising competitions but never been out yet
Reply : Wed 4th Jul 2007 21:26
I think he plans to whack you over the heed with it.