Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Bring me the head of sergio garcia....

Posted by: user303554 | Fri 5th Aug 2011 10:33 | Last Reply

Good Morning All,

Has anyone read this book?? Im half way through and finding it very amusing and interesting and possibly inspiring...but to a point....

ive been playing golf for 2 years..i played a small amount with friends when i was younger but nothing much....ive never had lessons...i joined a club and had a year of playing..in which I won my first major (2 rounds stroke, 3 rounds matchpplay)..name was on the board with a handicap of 19 ..i was a golfer..yes i was...i thought...until the pro said your not even nearly a golfer until you have less than one shot a hole....a challenge!!

anyway... a year on i play approx 2-3 times a week and am steadily dropping my handicap..im currently off 11.8 and have just turned 30...im not at a club at the minute due to the birth of my 2nd child however i plan on having a solid year of playing in most comps next year...i dont envisage winning but want to become a better player...

through this long winded post i finally get to the question....i am off 11.8...ive come down reasonably quickly to a respectable handicap in my opinion anyway....i want to play off 4....i realise the magnitude of this statement and that now i only get 0.2 reduction per shot etc i must play far more consistently than ever (and im very aware that 19 to 11.8 was a much easier process)...anyway...what is the best approach in other players views to do this?? play at a club and an amateur tour?? hit the range everyday?? play different courses dont join a club?? have lessons??  Any opinion, shared experience of "the next 2 years of my life being the hardest/most frustrating ever in golfing terms" much appreciated

Thanks

Gavin

re: Bring me the head of sergio garcia....
user131525