Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Internal club comps

Posted by: user259181 | Mon 6th Jun 2011 16:18 | Last Reply

I'm not sure if it is the same at other clubs, but I would be interested to find out.....

For our mid week and weekend medals,stablefords,trophies and what not we have a charge of atleast  £5 with £3 going to the committee and £2 to the prize pot.

Now I must admit that when I started playing and joined a club, I naively thought that after paying the membership that normal club comps would be free ( barring a few special ones ).....I also never expected there to be prize funds.

After now playing for 18 months or so and starting to really get involved in the comps I've started to think that it would be nice if ordinary medals and stablefords were just comps with no money attached.....I estimate that this year I will spend over £350 on comp fees, I would take just as much joy from just placing well with no money included.

This year they also added an additional £25 a year to the membership rather than adding £1 to the comp fee....this money is also directly for the committee.

Is this a similar situation with other clubs?

re: Internal club comps
user355541
Reply : Mon 6th Jun 2011 17:32

It rather depends on the type of club. We are an affiliated club operating within a proprietary golf course. The committee's only source of income is a proportion of competition fees - around 25% of £2.50 midweek and £3 weekends. Your committee minutes and accounts will show you how your committee spends this money - you may be surprised how much the committee costs to run.