Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Equitable Score Control

Posted by: user324722 | Sat 21st Aug 2010 16:30 | Last Reply

As a novice I'm trying to get myself a feeling for my handicap, assuming I can play a few rounds even good enough to make a 28 :-)

One thing that is confusing me is equitable score control. I understand that this means for handicapping purposes the max score possible is double bogey, so a 5 on a par 3, 6 on a 4 and 7 on a 5.

However I can't work out what this means for handicap calculation. For arguments sake lets assume my 28 handicap as it stands. Today I hit 95 on a par 65 course, so 2 shots above a 28 handicap. However if I apply ESC to that 95 it comes down to 83, considerably below a 28 handicap and presumably reducing my current 28 handicap by some amount.

Which, if in fact either, of those scores should be used for handicap adjustment?

Cheers

Paddy

re: Equitable Score Control
user127691
Reply : Sat 21st Aug 2010 16:37

You get stopped at max double bogey for original handicapp calculations.

When you have a handicapp you get max 2 shots above your shot allowance for the hole.

user52922
Reply : Sat 21st Aug 2010 16:39

I have never heard of this ESC, Patric, but I always thought that the maxim was nett double bogey, not gross double bogey, so in effect you could have a 9 on a par five if you got 2 shots on that hole.

If I have got all this wrong then I am sure someone will be along to put me right. What a crazy system it is.

user131525
Reply : Sat 21st Aug 2010 16:43

I hope someone can explain Equitable Score Control to me - I've never heard of it!

user131525
Reply : Sat 21st Aug 2010 18:37