2 club lengths
can anyone give me the correct ruling regarding dropping within 2 club lengths when taking relief under penalty.
Does the 2 club lengths have to be with the club the shot is to be played with?
Reply : Sun 8th Aug 2010 16:50
NO, everyone normally uses the driver.
Reply : Sun 8th Aug 2010 18:53
I would have thought anyone who ever watched a golf tournament on TV would have known the answer to this question. Its common to see the pros using their drivers to measure 2 clublengths regardless of the club they intend yo use next.
Incidentally if you use a broomhandle putter this can be used as well.
Sadly you cant use that 20 foot extendable ball retreiver that you may have in your bag,
regards,
Michael.
Reply : Mon 9th Aug 2010 01:08
Colin,
I think the other person (parent) was linking two Rules. When you find a Nearest point of Relief for a Drop, you use the Club you intend to use in order to find that NPR. Once you find it you can then use any Club to measure from there.
If you want a good link to help with the Rules, find The USGA Website and go to the Rules & Decisions Section. Put in on favorites because you will be hooked on it.
TheLyth
Reply : Mon 9th Aug 2010 12:50
The question to ask is when do we take a Drop where both ends of the measurement need to be exact. Most Drops are "within 1 or 2Clublengths of..." a point. That Point being 'Nearest Point of Relief', 'Where ball last crossed a Margin' or 'An Obstruction'.
Then we have the Rules where a ball must be dropped within a set length of where it lies. That measurement can be taken with any Club.
In the 60's the Unplayable Lie relief was very different to todays. Firstly, unless you returned to the original place you played from with a Penalty Stroke, it was a TWO SHOT penalty. You could then drop back 'On Line' or as near as possible to where the ball was lifted, not nearer the hole.
The Rules will have a New Edition from 1st Jan 2012 and The Decisions are published every year on 1st Jan.
TheLyth
Reply : Mon 9th Aug 2010 13:06
Another point with regard to Free Relief.
You don't get Free Relief from "an abnormal ground condition", if you are also hindered by something else that doesn't warrent Free Relief. (i.e. Casual Water under a Bush).
There are a number of issues that are not covered within either The Rules or The Decisions and open to lengthy discussions. I am also a member of a Forum that has a number of Tour Officials and Referees on it and you wouldn't believe what is discussed on there.
TheLyth
Reply : Mon 9th Aug 2010 14:05
Ivan,
To Play this game within the Rules is easy.
To correctly administer The Rules is a different matter.
TheLyth
Reply : Mon 9th Aug 2010 14:53
The one rule I detesed is when you hit a perfect tee shot only to find ypur ball has manged to find a divot to rest in, or sat in the middle of a curled up replaced divot. I think this should be allowed,a drop without penalty. Thoughts?
Last edit : Mon 9th Aug 2010 15:01
Reply : Mon 9th Aug 2010 20:49
I thought that the ruling was UP TO 2 club lengths. I've always taken the full two to give as much relief as possible mind.
Shows how the R & A are moving with the times. Here's the rules as an iphone app. Free to download -> http://www.randa.org/en/RandA/News/Features/2010/July/Rules%20App.aspx
Reply : Mon 9th Aug 2010 20:59
Chris,
I think getting your phone out on the course would get you into more trouble 
Reply : Mon 9th Aug 2010 21:45
Colin ,not to hit over any water would be a huge bonus for Chris.

