Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

i cant believe it

Posted by: user262865 | Mon 21st Jun 2010 12:17 | Last Reply

as a few on here no doubt know ive been struggling for any sort of decent distance since i started playing properly a year ago. since last year id managed to get my driving distance up from 170 yard average to 200 yard average to recently 215 yard average.

well there was me thinking it was gonna be a slow painful process when for some reason whilst watching the open on friday night i decided i was gonna change my grip. i have smallish hands and always used the baseball grip as i didnt feel i had control of the club using the overlapping grip or interlocking one. ive always struggled against a fade/slice so i thought "to hell with it im going down to the practice area at my local course with a shag bag and im gonna practice till i can master one of these other grips" so i did and at first i tried the overlap but found it very uncomfortable for the little finger on my right hand so i gave the interlock a go. after a few shots getting used to it i started to feel good with it and then i noticed my shots had suddenly become mostly straight but if not then they were a draw or a hook on the bad ones and suddenly i felt as if i was hitting the ball with a lot more power also.