Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Mizuno MP52's

Posted by: user26342 | Fri 21st May 2010 22:42 | Last Reply

I currently play with Nike Pro Combo's with S300 shafts & over the last 12 months my ball striking has improved although I lost a bit of distance due to switching from R300 shafts to the S300's.

My playing partner recently purchased some Mizuno MP25's & I liked the look of them, & it took me back to my early golf days when I started playing with Mizzy Comp CT's.

I found an ex-demo MP52 6 iron with the R300 shaft on E-bay for £10 & it arrived today. I went out on my local course & the 1st hit I fell in love with them. Everything came out of the middle & the feel was great, I was also getting about an extra 20yards compared to my current 6 iron.

I'm now in a dilema whether to switch to these clubs

Anybody else use these or had similar experiences?

John.

re: Mizuno MP52's
user52922
Reply : Fri 21st May 2010 22:54

You have just realised that you are one of the many new breed of player who thinks they need stiff shafts.

You have an excellent tempo swing, John, so why make it difficult for yourself.

We have a young pro at Sherfield who really is long, and I mean exceptionally long and I was speaking to him the other day and he told me he uses light regular shafts.

Ist on the Waterloo 495 yards, 2 iron 2 iron on the green. 7th Wellington driver, lob wedge 495 yards again.

Stiff shafts are the easy get out for those who cannot hit the ball straight.

Last edit : Fri 21st May 2010 23:32
user33026 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Fri 21st May 2010 23:21

John F,

I tried the the Mizzy MP52, MP58 and MP62's.  I personally loved the MP62's.  Such a sweet feeling and just felt right

John P,