Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Handicap??

Posted by: user254657 | Thu 20th May 2010 06:48 | Last Reply

Hi all, I've been playing golf now for 9 months after not playing for about 20 years! My handicap seems to be dropping fast but I am a bit worried that it's due to the local courses I play. My game has improved dramatically due to lots of practice but the 3 local courses I play seem to be a bit forgiving. They all are par 69-71 courses, but it just doesn't feel right saying I play off 16 just from my scores from these 3. I do intend to venture further away now that my game has improved to see if it's me or the courses, does anyone else feel this? My scores have dropped since I got a new ping i15 driver and most holes i play on these courses consist of a drive and a wedge, they just don't seem challenging enough? (that's not me being cocky but just honest) I feel a different course may put me back to upper 90's???

re: Handicap??
user33026 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Thu 20th May 2010 08:35

Shane,

You will always find that if you play tougher courses your score will be higher.  This is why SSS was put in place.  I play a course local to where I am working in Bristol (Woodlands) that is par 70 and I would be very disappointed if my score was above 89.  I was a member of The Belfry until recently where The PGA is also par 70.  I would be very happy with an 89 around there.  The SSS around Woodlands is 68 and the SSS of the PGA is 71.  This means I should expect to score 3 shots lower around Woodlands than around the PGA.  SSS is not perfect and there are many who disagree with it, but the theory is that an 18 handicap player from the courses I mention above should be of the same standard.