×

Top Links:

Our Services

Get A Golf Handicap

Competitions

Join or Login

Course:

UK Golf Guide | Search | Travel

News:

Latest | Gear | Tour | Industry

Tuition:

Golf Tuition | Instruction Content

Golfshake:

Join | Log In | Help

×
New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Question !!

Posted by: user48641 | Sun 22nd Apr 2007 18:32 | Last Reply

Can you all help me out here............

Today when I was my ball was on the green and someone who was chipping on hit my ball, so I replaced it back in its original position.  FAIR ENOUGH NO ARGUMANTS THERE.

Then on another occasion I was putting a long putt and at the same time another player putted and both our balls hit but it moved mine closer to the hole........what am I suppose to do ? my ball was still in motion just about to stop then the other ball hit mine and moved it closer - we didnt know the rules so I placed it back where the balls struck and 2 putted for a 6...my point is it wasnt my fault so surely I should have been able to leave the ball where it was and putted from there ??NO/YES??  (answers probably No but Im sure I got a valid argument to say Yes??)

re: Question !!
user48641
Reply : Mon 23rd Apr 2007 12:50

it was quite a big green and i was furthest away im sure but when i stood over the ball i could not see the other player also lining up ready to play (anyways i did replace it at the point it got struck) but i cant help feeling robbed knowing that it would have rolled closer to the hole had it not been struck and moved off line......then to top it off i missed the next put so i three putted......

Also, this leads me to another question, we was once on a par 5 - my partners ball went into a brook about 100 yards in front - so he played another ball (so thats 3 off the tee) then that ball went into the brook as well (he went to the brook and fished out his first ball - clearly unplayable) then dropped his ball and hit it...........how many strokes is that ? he said his drop would count as his 2nd shot as his 2nd tee off was a provisional ??? (i said how can it be a provisional if you went into a water hazard again) am i right ? i said i think you have to go and tee off again which would mean you would be 5 off the tee after you hit it !!!

oh god why so many rules !!!! 

re: Question !!
user48641
Reply : Mon 23rd Apr 2007 13:13

Thanks for that I didnt honestly know that, blimey next time i'll just use this proviosnal ball rule to my advantage also !!

as for the putting yes thats definately a lesson well learnt for me there - hit my ball again i'll kick ya BEEP !!  lol

 


The Forums have now moved to a new version

We have now moved the forum to a new and improved system which provides more functionality plus provides easier access from desktop, tablets and smart phone devices.

Click here to view the new forum & register for free.

Scroll to top