can i ahave a ruling please
Myself & three playing partners were on the green.
One of my playing partners had a long putt.
I had gone to my bag to clean a club & find a marker.
as i was walking back to the green this lad putted, my ball had not been marked yet. His ball hit mine.
Is there a penalty for this action & who does it lie with?
Reply : Fri 23rd Apr 2010 21:38
What if the mates ball was just off the green? As this happened to me the other day but I hit the ball from off the green and hit my mates ball who was 5 foot from the green. Am I in the wrong or am I OK?
Dave CAC handed Geordie
Reply : Fri 23rd Apr 2010 22:16
Dave the Geordie asked?
"What if the mates ball was just off the green? As this happened to me the other day but I hit the ball from off the green and hit my mates ball who was 5 foot from the green. Am I in the wrong or am I OK?"
A ball hit by another ball anywhere on the course must be replaced as near as possible to where it was.
If both balls were on the green, then it is a penalty, but if they are not on the green, no penalty.
Reply : Fri 23rd Apr 2010 22:22
If your ball was off the green and it hits your mate's, there is no penalty to either player. Your ball is played as it lies and your mate's is replaced as close as possible to where it was.
Reply : Fri 23rd Apr 2010 22:45
my ball & in fact al of our balls were on the green.
he had a long put. whilst i was sorting a marker out & cleaning the wedge i had just used.
being a busy saturday he decided to putt up.
his ball hit mine, which i state had not been marked.
this was due to me being at my bag, as i had forgot to put my marker in my pocket at the start of play.
basically he hit my ball with his, without being marked & all balls were on the green!
please could anyone enphasize who gets what penalties etc
also basicaly who is at fault?
Reply : Fri 23rd Apr 2010 23:17
David, see Wayne's post (2nd in this thread) this answers your question/s.
Reply : Sat 24th Apr 2010 19:01
David Preston - Wayne answered your question with his first post on this thread
David Patrick - The posts after your question (including the lyth and mine) answered your question
Reply : Sat 24th Apr 2010 21:03
I thought if I was off the green balls on green dont need to be marked.
Also I did mean 5 foot from pin not green.
Dave CAC handed Geordie.
Reply : Sun 25th Apr 2010 21:26
thanks for your input guys much appreciated.
Luckily I still won on the day, but at the time due to slight confusion on this matter I was penalized one shot.
Having said this, I shot 36 points & got cut a shot off of my handicap.
wrote same post again even after waynes answer, got confused, too many daves about!! sorry.
In some repects this error saved me even more of a slice!
Last edit : Sun 25th Apr 2010 21:29
Reply : Mon 26th Apr 2010 11:14
I saw that after afew days so used my old Nick-name TheLyth from then on.