Out of bounds question
I have a question that I'm not sure about. In football the ball is deemed out if it crosses BUT comes back into play, i.e corners.
What applies in golf if your ball goes OOB in the air but lands in bounds OR lands OOB but finishes up in bounds??
I was thinking about this in relation to Dave Knatt's earlier post about playing the hole from a different way it was intended.
Reply : Wed 3rd Feb 2010 21:48
Think it's in play, think we also had a similar question to this and the ruling is kind of ambiguous but clear
Seem theory if you hit a tree out of bounds but it knocks it back in.
Will search and get back to you
Reply : Wed 3rd Feb 2010 21:49
Where it comes to rest is where it is, otherwise you could hit over an oob but end up on your own fairway on a dogleg and it would be called oob....but it isn't.....does that make sense ???
Last edit : Wed 3rd Feb 2010 21:49
Reply : Wed 3rd Feb 2010 21:50
so if it comes to rest in bounds, then it is !!!
Reply : Wed 3rd Feb 2010 21:52
Reply : Wed 3rd Feb 2010 22:15
The ball is in play, John F, even if someone were to throw a bll back onto the course after going out of bounds, providing you did not ask for them to throw it back.
Reply : Wed 3rd Feb 2010 22:18
I once saw Russ Abbot hit a ball over a wall onto a bus, it rolled down the stairs back over the wall onto the green to the edge of the hole, then the vibrations of a passing train made it fall in !
I bet he still didn't buy the drinks either (tight [email protected] )
Reply : Wed 3rd Feb 2010 22:20
Now who fancies following me around next time I play & throwing my ball back into play for me??
Reply : Thu 4th Feb 2010 09:36
Where the ball finishes up, I mean you could hit a ball that pitches in bounds but has a nasty kick and goes oob. Bad luck but it lies to rest oob.
Reply : Sun 7th Feb 2010 15:25
The Rule is 'if it is known' that the ball was thrown back.