Tee Times | Search | Reviews

News:

Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

A newbee question about equipment (irons)...

Posted by: user276830 | Sun 27th Dec 2009 00:27 | Last Reply

Ok I'm not technically a newbee but I might as well be after 10 years out....

After days of pre-Christmas internet research I feel like I know less about golf gear than I did when I started!

So help me if you can. My irons are more than 15 years old, they were second hand when I bought them and I've had them more than 10 years.

Questions:

Are modern clubs worth the investment?
Could having old clubs limit my improvement?
Have there been any major developments in technology in the past 15 years that will instantly improve my long iron play, ball striking or consistency?

I've been reading about clubs having "maximum forgiveness". Is this one of those made-up marketing gimmicks or are there more forgiving clubs than others?

Thanks all in advance!

Ray.

re: A newbee question about equipment (irons)...
user52922
Reply : Sun 27th Dec 2009 09:09

David has given a very good assessment of your questions, Ray. Nothing further to add from me apart from the fact that it is not necessary to buy new and shiny. Players discard their clubs after very short use these days, so there are plenty of secondhand bargains to be had.

Last edit : Mon 18th Jan 2010 15:27
user99350
Reply : Mon 28th Dec 2009 09:49

I agree, to me if I hit a duff shot with blades or a 'max' forgiveness club I will still be nowhere where I wanted to be so striking is the key as David mentioned. If you like the heads of your irons but the shafts are shot consider getting the clubs reshafted (will probably cost about £30-£40 per club (true temper dynamic gold). It's what I did.

user79118
Reply : Mon 28th Dec 2009 17:28