when ball plugs on edge of the green
i play last sunday.i hit my pw from 100yld to the green and landed on the edge of the green and my ball pluged,what is the rule when this happens?do u get a drop?
Reply : Thu 19th Nov 2009 08:54
Hi Matt, I would have thought that as it's on the green you can mark your ball, repair the pitch mark and there you go.
Reply : Thu 19th Nov 2009 14:17
Thanks for that Chris. I played withh a society that insisted you play as it lies in the rough which I always thought was wrong bbut there you go, you live and learn, albeit 10yrs to late.
Reply : Thu 19th Nov 2009 15:07
Matt ,this is the rule for your Question,
25-2. Embedded Ball
A ball embedded in its own pitch-mark in the ground in any closelymownarea through the green may be lifted, cleaned and dropped,
without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where it lay but not
nearer the hole.The ball when dropped must first strike a part of the
course through the green. “Closely-mown area” means any area of the
course, including paths through the rough, cut to fairway height or less.
Patrick,in your instance the Society was correct unless a local rule is inforce for abnomal ground conditinons or a winter rule.
If your ball becomes embedded in the rough you play as it lies or take an unplayable lie.
(we all know what rough looks like )
If the player deems his ball to be unplayable, he must under penalty of
one stroke:a. Play a ball as nearly as possible at the spot from which the original
ball was last played (see Rule 20-5); orb. Drop a ball behind the point where the ball lay, keeping that pointdirectly between the hole and the spot on which the ball is
dropped, with no limit to how far behind that point the ball may
be dropped; orc. Drop a ball within two club-lengths of the spot where the ball lay,
but not nearer the hole.If the unplayable ball is in a bunker, the player may proceed under
Clause a, b or c. If he elects to proceed under Clause b or c, a ballmust be dropped in the bunker.
When proceeding under this Rule, the player may lift and clean his ball
or substitute a ball.
PENALTY FOR BREACH OF RULE:
Match play – Loss of hole; Stroke play – Two strokes.
Last edit : Thu 19th Nov 2009 15:16
Reply : Thu 19th Nov 2009 15:08
Sorry Jonny obviously working on it the same time
Reply : Thu 19th Nov 2009 16:13
At this time of the year on you not on winter rules anyway where you play? Usually you would be able to pick clean and drop on any area through tyhe green at this time of year.
Strangle enough on rule 25-2 does that apply to USGA I know a guy who got DQ from a comp for lifting from a plugged lie in the rough but he only did it as he was sure he had seen a pro do it on the TV, I'm not sure I've ever seen a pro do it but could there be a variation on this rule.
Reply : Thu 19th Nov 2009 16:45
thanks for the comment,but why do u not get a drop when you go in the bunker and it plugs??
Reply : Thu 19th Nov 2009 21:56
Steve, I have come across some of these special rules. I was playing in a Pro Am at Penina, Portugal, with Martin Foster. The course had suffered torrential rain and they had to cut channels in the greens to try and get the water away. They introduced a rule, that, because of the sodden ground, there would be lift, clean and place within 1 club length.
Martin hit a shot to the green and it finished a foot off the putting surface on the fringe. He, lifted the ball, cleaned it and placed it within the club length rule, but on the actual putting surface. I could not believe it.
Last edit : Sat 21st Nov 2009 23:08
Reply : Fri 20th Nov 2009 23:44
Intersting stuff, thanks Jonny P and DL. There is a course in Leeds called Wike and is notorious for the lack of drainage hence plugging in the rough. I find this a ridiculous rule as there is a definate risk of injury.
Reply : Sat 21st Nov 2009 13:07
I read/heard that if the ball is plugged in the rough that you are allowed to roll it out of the plug mark.
You cannot pick up the ball or clean it, simply roll it out of the plug mark so you can take your next shot.
Reply : Sat 21st Nov 2009 13:23
A Golf Club can have a Local Rule that allows for an "Embedded Ball" to be lifted and dropped Through the Green, which then includes the rough. But your 'Rule' is not any part of an Official Ruling. May be a "Boys Rule", same as rolling a Ball into a better lie under Preferred Lies.
Reply : Sat 21st Nov 2009 18:59
David, I cannot remember where I read/heard this, it might even have been on here.