Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

I've hit the wall :(

Posted by: user40826 | Mon 26th Oct 2009 20:52 | Last Reply

Not literally of course.  Although I'm sure Sergio tried that this weekend before making his double bogey.

I set my goals this year, as we all tend to do.

- Improve my driving - stopped fading the ball now

-  Start again with my putting - much more confident now, no more 3 putts. 

- Knock 3 shots off my handicap (The main one!) - NOTHING HAS HAPPENED!

I've been playing for over 3 years now and have been improving every year since.  First year, got down to 22, second down to 17, third down to 13 and now - hit the wall!  For the 2 months or so I cant crack below my handicap - constantly shooting 84, 85, 86 all the bloody time.

I just cant seem to get any further with my game - its beginning to get to me now, so much so I nearly walked off on Sunday.  Good job my father in law was there, reminding me 'it's just a game!'  But its starting to get to me 

I started well enough on Sunday with a bogey, birdie, par, par start. 5th hole, I hit a decent tee shot, fluffed my wedge to the green and that was it - 7 card gone! 

I'm seriously at a loose end now with what is happening.

I'm wondering if lessons would be the answer but as I have never had one before I'm a bit worried it may damage my game in the short term.  I've always worked my way through any problems myself by practice, practice, practice. If my putting is off - I'll hit the putting green, or the garage for a few hours a week, irons - the range etc  None of this seems to be working at the moment. 

So fellow golfers, what the hell is going on?  Is it really all in my head?

A worried, stuck golfer. 

re: I've hit the wall :(
user52922
Reply : Mon 26th Oct 2009 21:10