×

Top Links:

Our Services

Get A Golf Handicap

Competitions

Join or Login

Course:

UK Golf Guide | Search | Travel

News:

Latest | Gear | Tour | Industry

Tuition:

Golf Tuition | Instruction Content

Golfshake:

Join | Log In | Help

×
New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Ball moved without being addressed

Posted by: user94811 | Sun 25th Oct 2009 17:53 | Last Reply

this happened yesterday and i wonder if anyone can tell me the correct ruling.

My playing partners tee shot stopped on a slope above the green. It took us a few minutes to reach the green and he then went to his ball. he was standing at his ball but he had not addressed it when the ball started to roll down the slope getting closer to the hole all the time. when it eventually stoped rolling it was about 3-4 yards closer to the hole than it had been.

Now I know there is no penalty because he had not addressed the ball but the question is should the ball be replaced to its original position or should it be played from where it finished?

re: Ball moved without being addressed
user77012
Reply : Sun 25th Oct 2009 18:15

If no outside agency moves it as you described then you play it from where it finshes, in this case a good result.


The Forums have now moved to a new version

We have now moved the forum to a new and improved system which provides more functionality plus provides easier access from desktop, tablets and smart phone devices.

Click here to view the new forum & register for free.

Scroll to top