Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Ruling Please

Posted by: user20126 [FORUM MODERATOR] | Sun 19th Jul 2009 22:39 | Last Reply

Whilst playing in my Summer League game today I did something that I've never done before, and I wasn't too sure what I should have done!

I was on the green and had just put my ball down ready to putt.

Having picked up my marker I moved around to the side of the ball.

At this point I managed to let go of my putter!!!  And guess what?  It landed on my ball.

The ball moved about three or four inches nearer the hole.

Now what should I have done?

Russ

re: Ruling Please
user25808
Reply : Sun 19th Jul 2009 23:09

having just looked at the rules and the decisions on the rules I think you have to incur a 1 stroke penalty and replace the ball rule 18-2 a

Last edit : Sun 19th Jul 2009 23:11
user81455
Reply : Sun 19th Jul 2009 23:15

Off the top of my head I would have agreed with Adrian but having looked at the rule book Rule 18-2 seems to say there is a one shot penalty even if the movement was caused accidently.  The ball should be replaced too.

user20126 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Mon 20th Jul 2009 08:28

Wrist slapped!!      

I did replace the ball and add on one penalty shot.

But seeing as this is the first time that I have dropped my putter onto my ball I wasn't sure what the correct procedure is!

My playing partners thought that I should just add one shot and play the ball from where it had stopped, simply counting the putting hitting the ball as a putt.

Russ

Last edit : Mon 20th Jul 2009 09:36
user26342
Reply : Mon 20th Jul 2009 10:18

Russ,

I was certain about the 1 shot penalty but I'm like you I think you should have played the ball where it came to rest.