Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

using hybrid irons

Posted by: user91133 | Sat 20th Jun 2009 19:54 | Last Reply

Hi.  I'm new to the game of golf. i bought some second hand cheap clubs, and after about a year, I felt that I'd gone as far as I could with them. I have bought a set of wilson staff irons but the 3 & 4 are hybrids and I am struggling with them, (when I say struggle-it's an understatement, I can't hit the ball) I am topping the ball every time, even off the tees. my other irons (5-9) are no problems. has anyone any suggestions? it's getting seriously bad. in a match earlier today, I got as far as the 10th hole and had to make my apologies and quit because I was so deflated and downhearted, at the moment, I just feel like getting rid  of the clubs and finishing with the game completely. do I adjust my stance, grip, address etc.?

re: using hybrid irons
user20126 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Sat 20th Jun 2009 19:57

Welcome to the site John.

It could be you are not sweeping the ball away with the long irons.

As it appears that you are using the five iron and above well then it could be you are hitting down on the ball and just mistiming it.

Russ

user133274
Reply : Sat 20th Jun 2009 20:46

john

maybe the ball is to far forward when you set up to it. move it towards your back foot and concentrate on getting a good strike on the ball instead of swinging very hard. also untill you are good at hitting your hybrids try laying up and hitting your 5 iron. you dont have to hit the green in regulation to make a par. practise your short game and watch your handicap go down

user69191
Reply : Mon 22nd Jun 2009 19:03