Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Keeping Notes

Posted by: user42368 | Fri 19th Jan 2007 13:46 | Last Reply

On my pro's advice, I have written down my approx distances for each club for full, half and quarter swings and taped it to the front of my scorecard holder for easy reference.

He says it's ok but as I'll be playing in my first competitions later this year - what do we all think? It's a big help.

re: Keeping Notes
user48641
Reply : Thu 19th Apr 2007 20:26

Dont know if this affects you or not - but the range I go to has some slighty heavier balls so maybe you need to take that into account also, I once heard the dude at the range say the signs were 10yards (or was it 10%) closer to allow for this.....I'm no expert on driving ranges and the balls and stuff but the place that teaches my lil son has the yardage marked out very well and they also use the "real" type of golf balls (hope this all makes sense) !?!!?

user50354
Reply : Fri 20th Apr 2007 08:53

Personally I would stick with where the ball lands the reason being the roll will be different for say:

Summer fairways

Winter fairways

Summer fairways with rain

Winter fairways with frost

etc etc etc

Once you know your yardages for landing you can "give or take" on a particular day depending on the conditions...

user52922
Reply : Thu 5th Jul 2007 11:56

I'm with you Paul, I am old school and have never looked at yardages, even on the tee, I have always trusted my eyes and have always had the ability to feel the distance.