Tee Times | Search | Reviews

News:

Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

My new swing, reasons for extra high ball flight?

Posted by: user85262 | Thu 30th Apr 2009 09:48 | Last Reply

re:  extra high ball flight

I posted last week how I have just managed to make a full back swing (for the first time since I started playing golf approx 3 years ago),  I have to keep going back until I see the club out of the corner of my left eye.  Ive had a problem for years that something in my head stopped me when the ball was there.

Anyway, its like starting from the beginning again & feels totally different.

Ive been to the range several times since I started this new swing and played on the course once.  On the course I started off really well but lost confidence on the back 9 and went to pieces.

The issues I have now are as follows:-

With my irons I am getting a higher ball flight which I am pleased with as this gives me a better chance of landing the ball on the green (especially if there is a bunker in front)  Although the ball is travelling further than before I know that its not coming of the centre of the club face, it doesnt sound like a clean contact and I'm getting the vibration through my wrists.  Any thoughts what the problem might be?

With my 5 wood I am hitting this way too high, not quite a sky shot but almost!  Beforehand I rarely used my wood but if I did the flight tended to be low.

With my driver I am consistantly skying the ball. (wasnt doing this before)

Has anyone any thoughts what may be causing these particularly high ball flights which has only just come about since I started make a full back swing. 

Ultimately, i'd like to be somewhere in between my previous very low ball fall flight and now too high ball flight.

thanks everyone.

John