Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Golf Lessons

Posted by: user131525 | Thu 26th Feb 2009 19:29 | Last Reply

Well, I've been playing for about 2 years since I returned to the game and, if I do say so myself, am playing consistently.  I have very few "blobs" and am consistently 1/2 over par on most holes.  I reckon I'm about as good as I can get without some outside help.  i've never had a lesson in my life and reckon it's about time.

What would others advise? Lessons? Playing lessons? I've been offered 6 x 30 minute lessons and a 9-hole playing lesson for £100 from my local pro.  Is this good value?

Any comments gratefully received.

Last edit : Thu 26th Feb 2009 19:44
re: Golf Lessons
user199058 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Thu 26th Feb 2009 19:50

That is about the best you will get price wise.

Many here will say lessons are a good thing but I know of a couple that will say that lessons are only as good as the teacher!

I believe the latter........

user20126 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Thu 26th Feb 2009 20:44

If you want to improve you have to have lessons!

My game has come on leaps and bounds due to now knowing how I'm going to play a certain shot.

The £100 seems like a good deal to me.

Russ

user99350
Reply : Thu 26th Feb 2009 22:07

Equally important is to take heed of the lessons. I know people who've had lessons for one thing or another and a couple of months later slip back into their 'natural' swing. I think it's a good idea to get a friend who has a reasonable knowledge of the basics and practice together, swapping info. Something as obvious as not being square at set up can be overlooked.

user91931
Reply : Thu 26th Feb 2009 22:39