×

Top Links:

Our Services

Get A Golf Handicap

Competitions

Join or Login

Course:

UK Golf Guide | Search | Travel

News:

Latest | Gear | Tour | Industry

Tuition:

Golf Tuition | Instruction Content

Golfshake:

Join | Log In | Help

×
New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Rules question - Man made objects

Posted by: user46538 | Mon 5th Jan 2009 12:55 | Last Reply

I know you can remove mademade objects such as bins, sheds etc if they are in your way - or you can take a drop if they are fixed without penalty, but what is the rule if your ball strikes one of these objects and in doing so prevents it's forward motion?

re: Rules question - Man made objects
user33026 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Mon 5th Jan 2009 13:43

Usually it's classed as an integral part of the course under fixtures and fittings per local rules Jonny.  It's like hitting a tree. 

I know that if you strike anothr player, or their bag or caddy, you have the choice of replaying for no penalty or playing as it lies (this one has come up for me before when I hit someone's bag). 

re: Rules question - Man made objects
user52922
Reply : Mon 5th Jan 2009 14:02

Ball in Motion Deflected or Stopped (Rule 19)

If a ball struck by you is deflected or stopped by you, your partner,

your caddie or your equipment, add a penalty stroke and the ball is

played as it lies. (Rule 19-2)

re: Rules question - Man made objects
user52922
Reply : Mon 5th Jan 2009 14:09

I think, to be fair,  Chris was probably playing matchplay as the rule is slightly different.

19-3. By Opponent, Caddie or Equipment in Match Play

If a player’s ball is accidentally deflected or stopped by an opponent,

his caddie or his equipment, there is no penalty.The player may, beforeanother stroke is made by either side, cancel the stroke and play a ball,

without penalty, as nearly as possible at the spot from which the

original ball was last played (Rule 20-5) or he may play the ball as it

lies. However, if the player elects not to cancel the stroke and the ball

has come to rest in or on the opponent’s or his caddie’s clothes or

equipment, the ball must through the green or in a hazard be dropped,or on the putting green be placed, as near as possible to the spot

directly under the place where the ball came to rest in or on the

article, but not nearer the hole.

re: Rules question - Man made objects
user52922
Reply : Mon 5th Jan 2009 14:30

Sorry JP, for going off topic, I was just putting Chris right on a comment he made to you in his post.

To answer your question I would say it is a rub of the green.


Last edit : Mon 5th Jan 2009 14:47
re: Rules question - Man made objects
user33026 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Mon 5th Jan 2009 14:46

You are correct John, I was talking about your opponents rather than your own.  I apologise for failing to make this clear.  On the occaision it happened to me, I shanked it off the tee and hit an opponents bag 20 yards up the fairway on the left.  It saved me losing a ball out of bounds in the woods too.  Santo, I don't cheat as I would only be cheating myself. 

Sorry for drifting off topic slightly JP, but I was trying to show the distinction in ruling between permanent features on the course and playing partners/opponents. 

re: Rules question - Man made objects
user52922
Reply : Mon 5th Jan 2009 14:51

I don't know when the rule changed but, in my days, if my ball hitting an opponent or his equipment, in matchplay, would immediately have given me the hole.

I once used this rule in a club match that was getting a bit animated with our opponents attempting all kinds of dirty tricks to win, so on a short hole I put my ball on the tee, putted it to hit their bag and then claimed the hole. Justice was served I can assure you.

re: Rules question - Man made objects
user33026 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Mon 5th Jan 2009 15:10

I thought you were above that kind of thing John!  However, fire with fire and all that. 

re: Rules question - Man made objects
user52922
Reply : Mon 5th Jan 2009 15:18

There comes a time Chris when a stand has to be made.

re: Rules question - Man made objects
user33026 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Mon 5th Jan 2009 15:51

I completely agree John.  Had a similar thing during an inter-squadron cricket match in my RAF days.  The opposition had provided the umpire and he was as crooked as you can get.  We batted second and when our fifth man went down to an LBW that pitched two yards legside, our captain waited until a cloud went across the sun and then took us off claiming there was insufficient light.  A draw was declared and they missed out on the knock-out stages because of it. 

re: Rules question - Man made objects
user52922
Reply : Mon 5th Jan 2009 16:06

Nice one. I like it, Chris.


The Forums have now moved to a new version

We have now moved the forum to a new and improved system which provides more functionality plus provides easier access from desktop, tablets and smart phone devices.

Click here to view the new forum & register for free.

Scroll to top