Tee Times | Search | Reviews

News:

Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

looking to buy a wedge any recomendations?

Posted by: user118328 | Sun 7th Sep 2008 16:19 | Last Reply

im a beginner and my wedge play is rubbish. i have just bought a used set of clubs in an auction for £2. it has 3 wood, 5 wood, 1-8iron, sand wedge and putter. i need to buy a pitching wedge or something for quite cheap any ideas?

i was looking at a fazer B10 soft cast wedge on american golf.

Last edit : Sun 7th Sep 2008 18:03
re: looking to buy a wedge any recomendations?
user48641
Reply : Sat 13th Sep 2008 16:55

hate to agree with wayne (sorry mate couldnt resist lol) but lessons would definately be a good start, but if your really after one theres a few on ebay which u can pick up quite cheap also.

you could always choke down a little on your 8 iron for now i guess - but hey gotta say a set for £2 is a real bargain !! well done.

for anyone else that reads this post - im now using my titleiest vokey spin milled which i got from my trip to the USA for £50 - truely awesome club

Last edit : Sat 13th Sep 2008 17:03
user97691
Reply : Mon 13th Oct 2008 21:31

have to agree, when you are confident, and you must love your wedges (which i try to) then try the vokey wedges

user33026 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Tue 14th Oct 2008 10:20

Always try before you buy.  I tried lots of different wedges and settled on the Cleveland CG14's.  Took a couple of rounds to get used to the distances (mainly becasue they stop instead of releasing like my old ones did) but I love them to bits.  I tried the Vokeys but didn't like them.  I've already served my sentence for heresy for this comment. 

Reply : Wed 15th Oct 2008 21:41