Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Newby Golfer needs help and advice

Posted by: user115622 | Tue 2nd Sep 2008 19:43 | Last Reply

Hi

I'm very new to Golf and I have not played many games at all. I should be getting some golfing lessons very soon. Does anyone know where to get good golfing lessons? I'm originally from London but I have just moved to the West Midlands Oldbury/Dudley so I'm looking for a few friends to link up with for a round of golf and maybe a few beers. I may also join Dartmouth golf club so if there are any members who would like to link up then drop me a line. At this stage I'm not a serious golfer just looking to learn the game and meet a few friends. If any of you have any tips on how to get me started that would be great. I look forward to hearing from you.

CJ

re: Newby Golfer needs help and advice
user33026 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Wed 3rd Sep 2008 09:42

Hi Chris, welcome on board.  Though I live in Solihull I work in Wolverhampton and have played a few of the courses over that side of Birmingham. 

If you're new to the game I suggest getting yourself grooved in at some of the local muni's before joining Dartmouth (you do know Dartmouth only has 9 holes don't you?).  Hilltop is 5 minutes from M5 junction 1 and a good (and quite challenging) course, or there's Lickey Hills 10 minutes from M5 junction 4.  You can join the Birmingham Link scheme and play any of their 7 courses at any time for £680 (or £60 per month).  I've played 5 of them and play 4 regularly and they're all worth playing. 

If you do want to join a private club, I suggest sending a PM to John Flood.  He recently joined Handsworth after spending a long time looking for the right one for him in the same area as you.  He wil be able to impart some wisdom and might save you some searching round.