Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Shanking the ball ! Tips anyone please.

Posted by: user85262 | Mon 30th Jun 2008 08:43 | Last Reply

Had an absolute nightmare game on Saturday,  just felt like coming off the course after 6 or 7 holes. 

By the back 9 I was shanking every shot, even SW & PW from within 100 yrds of the green.   (and on the last hole from 30 yards - straight right into the water)

Ive been playing for 3 years and never had this problem.

So frustrating as on Wednesday was really playing well and looking forward to Saturdays comp.

Anyway, I went to the range yesterday and still Shanking - I managed to start hitting SW ok but anything up from that and the shank was back.  Literally, every shot not just the occasional.

Ive not knowingly changed anything so has anyone else suffered this and what did they do to overcome it please.

Typical as well, I'm away for a 2 day golf break this weekend coming so fantastic timing!

Thanks all if you have any tips - going for a game later if anyone has any tips or advice for me to try out.

John

re: Shanking the ball ! Tips anyone please.
user52922
Reply : Mon 30th Jun 2008 09:46

I have never shanked a full shot but was prone to doing so with the short pitches up to 30/40 yds. One cannot play golf if one is shanking and as it sets firmly in the mind it becomes harder and harder to erase it.

I now carry two shank proof wedges and the fear is now gone from my game.