Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Getting used to new irons + steel to graphite

Posted by: user93503 | Fri 16th May 2008 20:17 | Last Reply

lo all, I'm fairly new to golf but work hard and do take lessons from our head pro.I have been playing with my dads old Ping Eye2 irons since starting 10 months ago and have just got my new Taylormade CGB Max irons today which have regular graphite shafts. ( tried stiff boy do they not suit me)

Now I'm not stupid ( honest) and realise that all clubs may lie a bit differentyl flex differently etc but these are supposed to be one of the easiest clubs to hit in the world so I didnt expect to have too much trouble getting going with them. I truly did struggle today and noticed myself that the clubs seemed to be more upright than my old clubs for starters. I went on the course on my own as the range is under repair but I did treat it as a pracie session , sneeking some extra shots in with the irons.

My actual main question is , is it normal to have to swing slower with a regular graphite and with a regular steel shaft, I ask because I got home and in my paddock started experimenting and quickly found that a very slow swing got me in to hitting them very sweetly indeed. Also I found that using a bit more wrist and a very straight left arm started to quickly turn it in to an effective flight of the ball as opposed to sending everything right which I NEVER did with the old clubs.

I thought it quite interesting how little tweeks quickly got me back to a farily good contact/flight and am preying I can repeat this on Sunday when I next play.

Cheers  Mas 

re: Getting used to new irons + steel to graphite
user24437
Reply : Mon 19th May 2008 11:22