Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Having Clubs lengthened / ball flight

Posted by: user85262 | Tue 8th Apr 2008 12:04 | Last Reply

Hi

Just wondered,  what you think.

Since I started playing Ive had a tendency to get a fairly low ball trajectory & so any approach shot to a green with a bunker in front can cause me problems as I always struggle to get the ball high and to stop on the green.

Anyway nothing to do with the above i decided to take my clubs into the golf shop and ask about having them extended ( this was more for getting a consistant strike on the ball) as with my 5 up to PW i really feel as if I'm in a stooped position and unbalanced.  If the ball is teed up I feel a lot more confident and strike the ball fairly consitantly and so I figured it could be the length of my clubs giving me a problem.    I'm 6ft 1 and measurement from wrist crease to floor is 37 inches.

The clubs are  standard size. (graphite)  Taylormade R7 CGB Max.

The guy in the shop suggested I have one of the clubs extended by an inch and then I could try it & have it taken out if I didnt like it.

Anyway,  just had my 8 iron extended by an inch and went to the range last night - not only was I getting far better contact with the ball off the mat (and felt I could keep a better posture) but I was getting a much higher trajectory which I figure is going to help me a lot on those approach shots.

Just wondered why the extra inch of length in the club would make such a difference in the trajectory - does this make sense?

Thanks all for any comments

John

re: Having Clubs lengthened / ball flight
user71987
Reply : Tue 8th Apr 2008 12:13

John,

i'm 6'4" and wrist crease to floor is 32 inches. 37? are you sure?