trying to run a comp. all players will play fourball betterball stableford at threee qurter handicaps! do you add both players scores together or is it the best players score over eighteen that counts, thank you.
Reply : Wed 19th Mar 2008 20:55
If you add the scores together then it cannot possibly be a betterball, David.
Reply : Wed 19th Mar 2008 21:13
does this mean that its the best score per team of two on each hole then? or is it the best score out of each two that wins, thank you!
i have studdied countless versions of the rules of golf and none stipulate what you can play only guidelines/ recommendations!
Reply : Thu 20th Mar 2008 08:39
Better ball David is the score attained by the "beter ball" ie
You play off 18 and your buddy say 28 now hole one you score 5 your buddy score 6. Your score is the better ball so on the card it's a 5 less 1 handicap shot = 4 for two points (assuming par 4 )
Hole two your buddy shoots 5 and you shoot 6. Your buddy is the better ball so the card reads 5 - 2 handicap shots = 3 for 3 points (assuming par 4).
Clear as mud eh.............