Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

practise swing ok but actual swing is only half a swing

Posted by: user85262 | Mon 10th Mar 2008 12:34 | Last Reply

If anyone can give any tips or advice I would really appreciate it.

Ive been playing golf for approx 2 years now and although my scores have come down quite considerably the problem I have is that my backswing is very short and so
i'm losing a lot of distance.

I thought initially this maybe down to the fact that I had back problems a few years ago but this cannot be the case as everyone says to me that my practise swing is a full swing but then the actual swing is only halfway back.

Ive even got my son to video my swing and i cant believe when i watch back how short the backswing is.

Ive had lessons from 2 different pro's and theyve helped me with other things but they just cannot get me to come back further on the backswing

If anyone has any drills or ideas that maybe able to help i would appreciate it.

thanks

johnsi

re: practise swing ok but actual swing is only half a swing
user52922
Reply : Mon 10th Mar 2008 12:40

The reason that you manage to get further back on your practice swing, John, is because, like me, you are not looking down rooted to where the ball is, but just swing relaxed. Try a practice swing pretending to see the ball and you will find that you do not get back as far. When the head is fixed it requires a body that can turn easily and yours sounds a bit like mine, just does not want to move.

Having said that, a short backswing is not the cause of losing distance, lack of a good strong follow through is the probable cause, something I struggle with also.

If you do have the flexibilty to be able to get a full shoulder turn on the way back then it is because you are trying to come down before you have got up.

user85262