Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Shock in the hands

Posted by: user643493 | Sun 5th Jul 2015 19:03 | Last Reply

I'm Still learning the sport Once Iv been to the driving range my right hand starts aching and go's num from the shock of hitting the ball Is this normal? it's fine if it is but it don't seam normal Am I hiting the ball sweetly? the ball seams to go pretty much where I want it to go maybe not the distance but that's why I'm practicing I am a right handed golfer I do sometime where a glove on the left hand that seams to be ok regardless of whereing one or not any tips or advise would be appreciated

Last edit : Sun 5th Jul 2015 19:03
re: Shock in the hands
user80078
Reply : Wed 8th Jul 2015 10:21

In my experience, there could be several reasons for your problem Steven. Range mats can be pretty unforgiving on your hands and require a more precise strike than turf when using irons. The numbness will probably be from frequent hitting the mat rather than the ball. Secondly, your irons may be a blade type rather than the more forgiving cavity back type. These are better used in the hands of lower handicap golfers and will cause shock in the hands if hit off the smaller sweetspot. Finally, it could be that your hands are not used to the grind of regular practice and need to be toughened up. If this is the case, things will slowly improve. Just a few ideas Steven. Good luck with your practice.

Last edit : Wed 8th Jul 2015 10:21
user643493
Reply : Thu 9th Jul 2015 11:22

Thanks for you advice Michael all makes perfect sense.

The irons I WAS using was Wilson blueridge (SEAD) blades but I got told they was "unforgiving" AND not the best for a Lerner so I swooped them for some king cobra gravity back (got told it may help iv used them once already and Seems lot better to use