Grounding the club..... ??
Hi, Can someone clear up for me (other than in a bunker) when you can and cannot ground the cub before a shot? ..... I know you obviously you can in the fairway ... but where else are you not allowed? Thanks Bruce
Reply : Sat 17th Jan 2015 21:07
in a water hazard !
Last edit : Sat 17th Jan 2015 21:07
Reply : Sun 18th Jan 2015 14:19
Or in a bunker.
Rule 13-4b http://www.usga.org/Rule-Books/Rules-of-Golf/Rule-13/#13-4
Last edit : Sun 18th Jan 2015 14:19
Reply : Tue 20th Jan 2015 13:06
I may be wrong but I was under the impression in any hazard or inside red stakes,
Last edit : Tue 20th Jan 2015 13:06
Reply : Tue 20th Jan 2015 16:12
Did you read Rule 13-4 ?
Bunkers and Water Hazards are hazards. Both mentioned above. Areas marked with red stakes or lines are a form of Water Hazard called a Lateral Water Hazard. So they are hazards.
Other than bunkers and water hazards, there are no other Hazards on a golf course.
Last edit : Tue 20th Jan 2015 16:12
Reply : Wed 21st Jan 2015 12:58
sorry DH, I didn't, I have now and appreciate your sharings. Am I also right in thinking in hazards you are aren't allowed to ground your club even if your leaning on a club to prevent you from falling or for support?
Last edit : Wed 21st Jan 2015 12:58
Reply : Sun 25th Jan 2015 19:09
Alun Using a club in such circumstances is considered to be 'touching', so is permitted by the exception.
Last edit : Sun 25th Jan 2015 19:09