Rake on edge of bunker
On a recent society game, a playing partner had played his ball and when we got to it, it was resting against a rake on a slope beside a sand trap, he marked the ball and moved the rake and placed the ball back, because it was on mown grass and a slope he had to push it down a bit. 1) Was he allowed to move rake. 2) If so is he allowed to push ball down so that it dosn't roll into trap. Hope to hear from from you golf buddies
Reply : Thu 11th Dec 2014 12:38
If the ball is resting against a moveable obstruction then you can move the obstruction. If the ball moves during the process it can be replaced with no penalty. So I don't think your partner did anything wrong.
You certainly would not be expected to have to play from a bunker if the ball had rolled in. In fact - if the ball had moved and was played without being replaced in the original spot then it WOULD have been a penalty!
Last edit : Thu 11th Dec 2014 12:38
Reply : Thu 11th Dec 2014 12:46
Rakes are movable obstructions, so if a ball comes to rest against a rake the player may remove the rake without penalty, even if they move their ball while doing so. If the ball is moved it must be replaced and if it will not come to rest on the spot where it originally lay, it must be placed at the nearest spot, not nearer the hole, where it can be placed at rest (Rule 20-3d(ii).
I think you were fin apart form the pushing it down bit. im not sure if it was illegal technically, maybe about altering lie or something, but I would interpret the rule as "if the ball wouldn't remain or stay staitionary when being placed, the ball could be placed at the nearest point no nearer the hole"
that said, I find when im playing with mates that we will usually come to an agreement about a situation or ruling and everyone is ok with it and no foul play is deemed to occur. Whether the rule is right or not, does it matter in the grand scheme of things. Obviously im not saying this is ok im club comps etc, but what is the ruling if none of you know what the rule to a situation is?
Last edit : Thu 11th Dec 2014 12:46
Reply : Thu 11th Dec 2014 12:56
Some great rules articles here from Barry Rhodes:
including 'Just where should you place a rake after playing from a bunker?'
Last edit : Thu 11th Dec 2014 12:56
Reply : Thu 11th Dec 2014 13:04
Hi Guy's and Lady, thank's for your replies, nothing ever surprises me in this great game that we still find we get into situations where we don't know the answer, but I think your interpretation of the rule is correct. Thanks G
Last edit : Thu 11th Dec 2014 13:04
Reply : Thu 11th Dec 2014 14:41
2) If so is he allowed to push ball down so that it doesn't roll into trap.
A decision covers this situation.
1-2/9 Player Presses Ball into Surface of Putting Green
Q.In replacing his ball but before putting it back into play, a player firmly presses the ball into the surface of the putting green in order to prevent it from being moved by the wind or gravity. What is the ruling?
A.In altering the surface of the putting green, the player has breached Rule 1-2 by intentionally taking action to influence the movement of a ball in play and to alter physical conditions that affect the playing of the hole.
In match play, the player loses the hole – Rule 1-2.
In stroke play, the player incurs a penalty of two strokes and must play the ball as it lies – Rule 1-2.
Last edit : Thu 11th Dec 2014 14:41
Reply : Thu 11th Dec 2014 14:44
Note 1: A player is deemed to have committed a serious breach of Rule 1-2 if the Committee considers that the action taken in breach of this Rule has allowed him or another player to gain a significant advantage or has placed another player, other than his partner, at a significant disadvantage.
Last edit : Thu 11th Dec 2014 14:44
Reply : Thu 11th Dec 2014 16:05
Hi DH, thank's for that, but that is regarding the putting green, this player was off the putting green and was on a slight slope, so pressing the ball down stopped it from rolling into the trap, another person said that if the ball continued to roll into the trap then drop it without penalty no nearer the hole where it would not roll into the trap.
Last edit : Thu 11th Dec 2014 16:05
Reply : Thu 11th Dec 2014 18:57
It doesn't matter where it is, it cannot be pressed down. There is nothing in the Rules permitting a player to press his ball lightly into the sand or ground to make it remain at rest.
20-3d. Ball Fails to Come to Rest on Spot If a ball when placed fails to come to rest on the spot on which it was placed, there is no penalty and the ball must be replaced. If it still fails to come to rest on that spot: (i) except in a hazard, it must be placed at the nearest spot where it can be placed at rest that is not nearer the hole and not in a hazard; (ii) in a hazard, it must be placed in the hazard at the nearest spot where it can be placed at rest that is not nearer the hole.
See this Decision for another example.
Last edit : Thu 11th Dec 2014 18:57