Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Dress Code vs No Dress Code

Posted by: user591770 | Wed 18th Jun 2014 14:21 | Last Reply

Hi there,

I've been playing golf now for well over 15 years, all along the south coast of England. Since starting, i've played at a number of different places with different sets of etiquette, rules & regulations.

One of the topics of hot debate at the moment is whether there should or shouldn't be a dress code? A number of clubs still enforce a full dress code of collared shirts, tailored shorts etc etc. However, a number of clubs are breaking this and opting to allow jeans, t-shirts etc.

My most recent club is Golf At Goodwood: http://www.goodwood.co.uk/golf-at-goodwood/golf-at-goodwood.aspx

Although this place takes pride on its heritage, with Justin Rose being an ambassador you're allowed to wear jeans, bring your dog on the course, and is fairly laid back...

Other courses along the coast are extremely strict, and won't even let you on the course unless your shoes have a certain shine...

What are people's thoughts on this? Should the dress code go, or should it stay?

Last edit : Wed 18th Jun 2014 14:22
re: Dress Code vs No Dress Code
user88724
Reply : Wed 18th Jun 2014 17:00

Standards in all walks of life have plummeted and usually need to bottom out before life is re-appraised. We see this in street dress, coupled with various forms of self-abuse (eg. tattoos) and failure to keep tidy (eg. too lazy to shave).

Golf dress is a few paces behind but likewise on the same slippery slope. Dress codes are set by committees in two minds: Will we attract members by maintaining standards, or push them away?

Philosophy aside how can one say that one uniform is better than another? And tidyness is hard to objectively define.