Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Driving high

Posted by: user586982 | Thu 5th Jun 2014 18:28 | Last Reply

Hi, I wonder if anyone could help me with a problem I've always had with my driving. I use a 11 degree loft on my Callaway driver. I have a relatively fast down swing. The problem I have is that I seem to get incredible height on all my drives. I tend to hit around the 200 mark but feel if I could irradicate the height I may gain some distance. Is there a fix for this or am I doomed to always send my drives into orbit? Thanks.

Last edit : Thu 5th Jun 2014 18:28
re: Driving high
user106712
Reply : Thu 5th Jun 2014 21:08

I'm no expert (by a long chalk) but maybe a flatter swing might help !

Last edit : Thu 5th Jun 2014 21:08
user50843
Reply : Thu 5th Jun 2014 23:06

Hi Carl for me the best thing to do is go see a pro, the loft on your driver isn't excessive in my opinion so it could be any number of things. A pro should be able to spot the problem pretty quickly, and it's cheaper than buying a new driver.

Last edit : Thu 5th Jun 2014 23:06
user555155
Reply : Fri 6th Jun 2014 08:20

For me focusing on a straighter left arm for both the takeaway and the downswing helped shallow out the v shaped swing to more of a u shape which meant less hitting down and consequently less height.

Last edit : Fri 6th Jun 2014 08:20
user202037 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Fri 6th Jun 2014 10:52

I naturally hit the ball high, but if I want to hit it low (into wind etc) then I just move the ball back in the set up and tee it lower. Trial and error on the range will help but also seeking expert help is a good thing.

Last edit : Fri 6th Jun 2014 10:52
user88724
Reply : Mon 9th Jun 2014 11:27

Ivan Sanders Reply : Mon 9th Jun 2014 00:45

Possibly:-