Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

golf physics question

Posted by: user553910 | Mon 10th Feb 2014 15:54 | Last Reply

If you hit what would have been a dead straight shot with no side-spin if the hit had come out of the centre of the club but hit the toe of the club instead, so that the face of the club opens slightly, what direction side-spin gets put on the ball?

The reason I ask this is that my opinion differs from that of my coach. He is a very experienced and highly qualified golf profession. I'm a total beginner.

I still think I'm right

re: golf physics question
user466742
Reply : Mon 10th Feb 2014 17:20

If the club was delivered neutrally with an open club face and struck towards the toe then my understanding of physics would mean that you would hit a weak fade. Saying that, I'm probably wrong.

user8 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Mon 10th Feb 2014 17:40
user546815
Reply : Tue 11th Feb 2014 10:15

in my opinion it would be a clockwise rotation (right handed) therefore a fade or more accurate a slice

user99350
Reply : Tue 11th Feb 2014 13:34

Steve, why would the club face necessarilly be open if you hit it off the toe? Generally when I toe it I get a bit of draw and I have a v whippy driver shaft. That said, if the club face is open at impact then I can't see any type of spin being imparted other than clockwise. an out to in swing will result in the level of fade/slice. I'd be interested to know how an open face can impart clockwise spin? (sorry this should say anti clockwise spin...edited 12/2/14) I would have thought a push would have been the best you could get.

Last edit : Wed 12th Feb 2014 08:29
user553910
Reply : Tue 11th Feb 2014 14:20