Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Golf magazines.

Posted by: user565589 | Wed 5th Feb 2014 11:10 | Last Reply

Having seriously got the bug I've been buying holf magazines for a few months and have noticed a bit of a pattern. They're basically the same magazine every month. Leading header says something along the lines of "hit it straighter and further than ever!!"or "10 simple secrets that'll have you bombong it like the pros!" I must admit, I'm starting to feel a little exploited haven't come across a byline saying "you'll never be as good as Rory et al but we're still going to try to sell you the overpriced over engineered psuedo scientific hunk of titanium which you believe will be a magic wand"

Admittedly, there are some interesting articles and I have benefitted from a couple of tips but as far as I can tell they just recycle the same tips and the rest of the magazine is just a vehicle for companies to foist this years magic wand upon us!

Am I being unfair?

re: Golf magazines.
user565589
Reply : Wed 5th Feb 2014 11:11

Ps. Typos! Fat fingers. Sorry.

user80078
Reply : Wed 5th Feb 2014 11:47

I think you are spot on Brian. I haven't bought one for ages now and will not in future.

user430247
Reply : Wed 5th Feb 2014 19:59

spot on mate ,,, they r full of same old same old ,evey time ,, i only buy them when i,am going on holiday now ,,

user43763
Reply : Thu 6th Feb 2014 16:11

I always ask the mrs for a subscription for xmas and that way I never feel like im wasting money,it is incredible how many different ways there are to say 'hips first, ground up, lag lag lag!!!.

I enjoy the equipment reviews if im honest but I was under the impression youtube was created to rectify the golf magazine problem.