Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

New golfer, driving is awful!

Posted by: user565589 | Wed 11th Dec 2013 19:50 | Last Reply

Hey, I'm a golfing newbie, been Playing around 8 wks with a set of ben Sayers clubs I inherited and am getting on quite well with the irons, still a way to go but getting better connection and distance all the time. My driving however is another story. My mate gave me a Nike machspeed 9.5 stiff shaft with the ben Sayers and I was useless with it and it was just sapping my confidence so I got a ping g10 10.5 from eBay which feels much better but I'm still slicing to the right 80% of my drives. At the range today I tried driving with my feet and knees together and miraculously every drive was straight as an arrow! Can anyone tell me why this is? What am I doing wrong in the "normal" stance which is being cured by having knees and feet together?. I went back to normal stance after hitting 50 balls and the slice came right back! Maybe I'll just hit all my drives with feet together from now on, looks daft but it's working somehow! Any advice would much appreciated.

B.

Ps. My best score over 18 holes so far is 120, should give you some idea of where I am.

re: New golfer, driving is awful!
user40826
Reply : Thu 12th Dec 2013 08:01

What do you ultimately want, low scores, or straighter with the driver?

If you want lower scores then you need to look at other parts of your game before tackling the driver. You are averaging around 6.6 shots per hole, if you can save 1 shot per hole, you can get your score below a hundred, quite easily.

I've talked about this before on here. You've been playing 8 weeks, get some lessons, grip, stance, alignment and swing. I bet you've got a lovely loop at the top of your swing, coming over the top and imparting massive side spin on the ball.