3 off the tee - hit two in a row or go to the back of the group?
A friend and I always have this argument when we're on the tee, he is a notoriously bad driver and when we play in a three or four ball and he wants to hit a 'provisional/third' he just pulls out another ball and keeps swinging,
My question is this - is he supposed to hit his first then go again for a third or should he go to the back of the group and allow everyone else to hit their first before he returns to the tee for the provisional/third
my understanding was that once he hits a ball his honour has passed and it becomes the next players honour.
Tried looking it up but cant find anything - pleeeeasssee help!!!
Reply : Thu 17th Oct 2013 16:07
Not sure if it's a rule, but I've always taken the view that you only play your second after the others have gone, it's just good manners - not only that I find it's better to have a bit of 'calm down' time after I've just stuck one OOB.
Reply : Thu 17th Oct 2013 16:11
Would have to agree with Tim on this one. Surely it is good manners to wait until everyone else has teed off before playing a provisional. Also the the calm down period makes a lot of sense.
Reply : Thu 17th Oct 2013 16:15
I agree, the etiquette dictates that all other players tee off before you hit another ball in case of O.O.B or a provisional ball if you think you may have lost your first tee shot
Reply : Thu 17th Oct 2013 17:43
Think this answers the question. Rules of golf dictate he steps aside and allows the other to tee off first
Rule 10-3 Provisional Ball or Another Ball from Teeing Ground
If a player plays a provisional ball or another ball from the teeing ground, he must do so after his opponent or fellow-competitor has made his first stroke. If more than one player elects to play a provisional ball or is required to play another ball from the teeing ground, the original order of play must be retained. If a player plays a provisional ball or another ball out of turn, Rule 10-1c or 10-2c applies.
Reply : Thu 17th Oct 2013 17:58
Knew that off by heart. eh Chris?
Reply : Thu 17th Oct 2013 18:44
Typed it out Tim. No copy and paste, honest
But I agree I also prefer the 'calm down' moment that you have mentioned
Reply : Fri 18th Oct 2013 01:16
If Rule 10 is taken as a whole then there is no penalty, nor does the player HAVE to play in turn. So you can take a view that if a guy wants to get a "ball in play" before the next player hits, it is possible.
I have seen it many times where a players hits a provisional before the next players turn.
Reply : Fri 18th Oct 2013 08:14
Another grey area where the rulemen will shaft you?