Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Waterproofs/winter clothing

Posted by: user455045 | Fri 20th Sep 2013 09:44 | Last Reply

I assume this topic is covered every year or so. I am fairly new to golf (18 months or so) and I have decided to get some waterproofs. Having said that I see I can spend hundreds of pounds on W/proof suits even a jacket alone can cost the earth. As my budget does not extend to that sort of money ( £150 is my budget), can I ask others what they have found to be fit for purpose ,usable, does everything it says on the " Tin " i.e. value for money. What should I be looking for in w/proof jackets ,gloves ,hats etc.

re: Waterproofs/winter clothing
user28838
Reply : Fri 20th Sep 2013 12:55

I have only played regular winter golf over the past 2 winters and first of all I would recommend a thermal baselayer which will remove the need for wearing multiple sweaters and/or your waterproof jacket when it is dry but cold. My £4 thinsulate-lined hat has also been well worth the money - much warmer than a normal woolly hat.

If you hands suffer the cold, as mine do, winter mitts are worth getting as well.

user356537
Reply : Fri 20th Sep 2013 15:55

John, I think a lot of golf clothing is nothing but a massive rip off. And nothing is more of a rip off than modern branded waterproofs. My advice would be to visit somewhere like Mountain Warehouse and see what Gortex or other breathable waterproofs they have. They'll be much cheaper and do the job just as well.

Norman, I think you need to start a new thread!

Richard

user43763
Reply : Sat 21st Sep 2013 17:41

Hi John, just been through the same sort of thing, wanted full waterproof set for £100