Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

When is a putt not a putt?

Posted by: user525485 | Tue 10th Sep 2013 09:58 | Last Reply

Hi guys

I have been entering my rounds for a few months now but have always entered a putt as a putt if I used my putter......if you know what I mean!

However, I was reading on another golf forum that a putt is only counted as a putt if the ball actually lies on the putting surface. Does this mean that if I putt from the fringe, I do not actually enter it as a putt?

Thanks

Neal

re: When is a putt not a putt?
user8 [FORUM MODERATOR]
Reply : Tue 10th Sep 2013 10:04

Hi Neal, it's subjective although I believe the tours only count a putt when on the green.

I know lots of Golfshake members do exactly this as well, however for me personally if I'm on the fringe I still count it as a putt.

user24437
Reply : Tue 10th Sep 2013 10:20

It's swings and roundabouts really Neal. If you putt from off the green it doesn't count as being as a green in regulation, and I'm just as likely to do a little dink with a 7 iron as I am to putt it. For me a putt is only when the ball is on the green - also helps to get the holy grail of statistics - no FIR, no GIR and no putts for a par!

user549719
Reply : Tue 10th Sep 2013 13:42

I agree. I say, "if you can lift it, clean it and align it (i.e. you're on the putting surface), it's a putt". My putting stats are then quite good but GIRs are not - often the first "putt" is from the fringe.

user25808
Reply : Tue 10th Sep 2013 17:25

I've this discussion with a playing partner before, he takes about 40-45 putts per round, I'm around 30 putts per round.

He counts any stroke he uses a putter, wherever he is on the course, as a putt. I only count putts if I'm on the green, I sometimes putt from the fringe but not always.