Gear | Tour | Industry Insider

Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Club Dilema

Posted by: user276830 | Thu 29th Aug 2013 14:30 | Last Reply

I'm on the market for my first set of new clubs. I've been using my Dad's 'hand-me-downs' for 15 years!!

I called into a popular golf equipment chain store and got my stats taken for club-fitting. I hit a few balls inside their measuring machine... the whole drill.

I wanted the TaylorMade RocketBalz Irons. The guy said I needed the stiff shaft and that they didn't have them in the stiff shaft, and tried to flog me the RocketBladz at £250 dearer...

Needless to say, I walked out.

I've found the clubs at other retailers, but they don't offer lie angle custom fitting although they do offer the stiff shaft...

I'm now torn between:

The lie angle adjusted regular shaft; The stiff shaft with no customisation.

My question... what has more impact on performance, shaft stiffness or lie angle?

re: Club Dilema
user466742
Reply : Fri 30th Aug 2013 09:32

If they are a reputable chain store then they will be able to order the stiff shafts for you. Don't be fobbed off by the salesman, go back and explain exactly what you want and they'll be able to take all your measurements and send them to Taylormade who will then courier them over and you should be able to pick them up within around a week or two. If it's AG I know for a fact they do this as a friend was in basically the same situation as yourself.

To respond to your question about stiffness or lie angle, if you need a stiff shaft but get a regular you'll notice a much higher ball flight. As to the lie angle, i'm not 100% certain on the +- effect it will have, sorry!