Tuition:

Video Library | Tuition Sections

Community:

Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Should I buy a hydrid?

Posted by: user543152 | Sat 27th Jul 2013 12:04 | Last Reply

Hi,

I've recently started playing golf, I'm only 16! I am progressing extremely well going around on an average of 88 on a par 70 course.

I really enjoy my golf but on long Par 4's and Par 5's once I've driven off I still have a decent amount of yards to cover. I can't seem to hit a 5 wood very well, or even a 3 iron. If I do I find myself trying to hit it into next week and really completely messing it up.

Would it be worth investing in a hybrid in order to resolve these shots? If so, which make is of good value for money and works extremely well? Please note I'm on quite a tight budget as I'm currently studying hard and I don't have money flowing from my ears!

Thank you for your support,

Jordan

This has possibly been placed in the wrong section. I didn't realise it was support for the forum! Sorry.

Last edit : Sat 27th Jul 2013 12:06
re: Should I buy a hydrid?
user106712
Reply : Sat 27th Jul 2013 17:03

Yes get one, Hybrids are great.. Easy to hit from almost any lie. my 3 hybrid goes almost as far as my 5 wood and my 4 hybrid is so easy to hit you wouldn'y beleive it til you try. Just remember to hit like an Iron not like a wood. I have callaway diablo hybrids. I've had them for 3 years now. Last year I got a hole in one with my 4 hybrid, 180 yards par 3 into the wind.

user543152
Reply : Sat 27th Jul 2013 17:59

Sounds ace! Thanks a lot.

user24437
Reply : Sat 27th Jul 2013 19:02

Go on e-bay and get yourself an MD Superstrong, couple on there for £30 or so. Don't fall into the trap that because they're cheap they're rubbish. Quality bits of kit and will help you find out whether or not they are for you at a reasonable price.

user543152
Reply : Sat 27th Jul 2013 19:49

Thanks Tim, really useful.