Top Links:

Get A Golf Handicap

UK Golf Guide

Golfshake Top 100s

Find Golf Travel Deals

Golf Competitions


Community Forum


Tee Times | Search | Reviews


Gear | Tour | Industry Insider


Video Library | Tuition Sections


Join | Log In | Help | Useful Links

New Forum System - click here to visit our new & improved forum system >>>

Woods drop from water hazard

Posted by: user446732 | Sat 13th Apr 2013 09:18 | Last Reply

Will Woods be DQd for his drop on the 15th? He is quoted as saying he went back 2 yards from the original spot.

re: Woods drop from water hazard
Reply : Sat 13th Apr 2013 12:17

He admitted he dropped from the wrong place, he should be outa there

re: Woods drop from water hazard
Reply : Sat 13th Apr 2013 13:40

This is what he did and that is what matters


Drops hit ground 1' from old divot hole then rolls another 1'. Is that old divot hole from his original stroke?

re: Woods drop from water hazard
Reply : Sun 14th Apr 2013 19:31

All sorted. The ANGC Committee boobed and deemed it all an 'exceptional individual case'. Sounds pretty exceptional for such an august body to make such a mess of it.

re: Woods drop from water hazard
Reply : Sun 14th Apr 2013 19:46

Yes the first divot is his first shot, the Sky replays showed it. The committee was in a lose-lose situation in terms of backlash either way, but by the rules of the game he should be DQd (although the Committee is entitled to waive DQ).

The question is, if Woods hadn't mentioned it in his interview (presumably at the time still unaware he'd done anything wrong), would there have been an issue? As the Committee on the initial review whilst he was still on course didn't see anything wrong, it seems unlikely any penalty would have been imposed had he not admitted to consciously taking advantage.

On the other hand, for the good of the tournament, a 2-shot penalty is adequate (he wouldn't have suffered more than that playing from the correct spot in all but the lightning-striking-twice scenario), with the commercialism involved it's not surprising the Committee elected to use their right not to DQ. Although it is surprising a professional does not know the rules, we see it on a regular basis, and a DQ I feel would be harsh.

Last edit : Sun 14th Apr 2013 19:53
re: Woods drop from water hazard
Reply : Mon 15th Apr 2013 08:34

We've all moved on but doesn't look like the news coverage has! check out this analysis photo which shows Tiger may have played from pretty much the correct place


The Forums have now moved to a new version

We have now moved the forum to a new and improved system which provides more functionality plus provides easier access from desktop, tablets and smart phone devices.

Click here to view the new forum & register for free.

Scroll to top